amigurumi

Amigurumi Techniques: Weight

This week I wanted to add a few posts about some of the techniques I use when I make my amigurumi. Have you ever made a project that won’t sit up the way you want it to? I’ve made my fair share of plushes that need to sit up or have heavy top parts, like this big Oddish plush:

139

The leaves made it roll onto its back, and I wanted it to sit up normally! At first, I would sew rice pouches to add weight, but it was inconvenient to have to sew a pouch for every. single. project – once I started adding weight to my plushes, I couldn’t stop! (It really does add a nice touch!)

After doing a bunch of digging online, I finally thought of something that wouldn’t require ANY sewing and was cheaper in the long run! You know those little footie socks they have at every shoe store that no one ever uses (at least I don’t)? Turns out you can buy a box of your very own online, via the joys of Amazon. What a life! So I purchased a box for $10 and have never looked back. You get 72 pairs, which is 144 individual socks for 144 individual projects, so it’s a good investment.

20170202_193250.jpg
Health notice! πŸ™‚ Not glamorous, but cost effective.

Once you’ve got your socks, you basically just fill them full of rice, or beans, or anything that won’t slip through the nylon weave that will provide some weight. I personally use rice, because it’s inexpensive and easy to store. I drink a lot of coffee, so I usually have a bunch of leftover coffee creamer containers. I saved one, washed it out, and filled it full of rice – it has a pour spout, so filling the sock up to whatever weight is easy.When you’ve filled your sock up, you just knot the top of the sock tightly, and slip the excess around the outside.

 

Click here to view the foot socks I bought on Amazon!

Hope this is helpful – I know it’s saved me a lot of trouble when working with bigger projects!

Leave a Reply

